It has been raining since yesterday morning, and I think I may have brought the cold weather with me. I remember the rain in Kenya, the constant drizzling, the waking up every morning to the sound of grey. I took my new pillow out of its packaging yesterday and it felt wet. Kenya was like that. Everything you touched felt wet, everything felt damp, and you felt heavy from the weight of it. I love rain. I loved its presence during the mornings of my Kenya experience; I loved wearing my rain jacket in the drizzle during spring times at Berry, where every other day one should expect rain. It’s unusual here, they say, because the rainy season usually doesn’t start until July. The roads flood because of poor planning. But I like it.

Yesterday Elsa and I spent alone time together. We chatted, sat outside and watched the rain from the front porch, watched the rain in the small backyard garden. I watched her eyes take in the pitter-patter sound, thinking of what babies can teach us. I’ve been around babies very little during my time in the land of adults, but I have always loved their smell, their wonder. They can teach us so much. I’m inclined to believe that many of the lessons I’ve come here to learn is from her.  Watch the rain, in wonder. Listen to the sounds as if they are all new, and laugh without reservation.  Study things, and take them in.

Babies are hard work. I wonder if there will be a time when I’ll be ready for one. For now, though, it’s fun to hang out with this one.


The tiny hands steal my heart.

Nathan & Erin's neighborhood in the rain.

Little Bit just checking to see that I'm there.

Just checking

Check out that perfection

Look! I like to read too! I think I enjoy reading Dr. Seuss more than she does. Occasionally she'll look over at me while I'm reading and try to figure out why I'm so enthusiastic.

Look! I like to read too! I think I enjoy reading Dr. Seuss more than she does. Occasionally she'll look over at me while I'm reading and try to figure out why I'm so enthusiastic.

Elsa's entertainment

My room before nesting.

Other side of the room, pre-nesting

