i have this problem. well, this morning i had 2 problems. 1. leave ID at home and fail to get into the building for work. 2. go to the library and it’s closed until noon. on the way home from “work” i couldn’t stop chastising myself about my stupidity, so i set about punishing myself with a massive mental to-do list.

including…

sort all winter clothes

change out winter/summer clothes

do laundry

catch up on facebook messages and email messages

write blog post

post photos to blog

print photos

go to the grocery store

clean bathroom and room to sparkly cleanness

work from home

go to the gym and get buff

go to the library and get smart books

BE PERFECT

sort every area of life and create order

apply for jobs and land the perfect one!

when i screw up i create these insensible, completely unrealistic expectations of myself. i think i have the sense that if i punish myself i can make up for lost time. when in reality, people do really dumb things like leave their IDs at home on a fairly consistent basis. people are flawed. i am flawed. (whoa! reality check). i am painfully and endearingly human. and i must have compassion on myself as i have compassion on others. so cheerio, erino. buck up and smell the roses and watch the butterflies flit around while you tackle that massively unrealistic to-do list. which is possibly not quite and unrealistic as i made it out to be in my head.

and this quote on a magnet on my refrigerator always cheers me up when i’m grumpy.

Finish each day and be done with it.  You have done what you could; some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can.  Tomorrow is a new day; you shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

